The Thaw

I have become accustom to observing conversation
rather than entertaining it.
I watch as mouths give birth
words both beautifully and awkwardly dancing into the universe.
I watch as eyes sparkle, twinkle, and squint
and hands, arms, glide around stirring about the air.
I envy quick wit and thoughtless kindness
my heart warming in its presence.
While jealousy has coldly rooted itself deep within my soul
and as I twist and rye it never loosens its grip.
But it is not I who can destroy it;
only by letting others’ warmth in
will frigid jealousy turn
into admiration.

-rmc

Leave a Reply

