a Jealous moment in time

It’s a funny thing
when you let someone go
and although their absence of presence may bring great hurt
it will be your own absence that will be most difficult
and as I write this with my heart pounding against my chest
like a distraught lion crashing against a cage to try and save its young
I realize how selfish I am
and that things I have done cannot be undone
so in my searing thoughts, and flaming memories I have of us two
I will whisper silently happiness I could not bring you

-rmc

Leave a Reply

